Broker Check
Kirk Welch, CFP®, ChFC®, CRPS®, CRPC®

Kirk Welch, CFP®, ChFC®, CRPS®, CRPC®

Principal, Chief Sales & Marketing Officer

What I do really well:

I help build successful corporate retirement plans. Both I, and my team of experts, work toward accomplishing this by creating great employee education practices seeking to maximize protection to plan fiduciaries. It takes a great deal of time and energy to help employers, and plan participants, to think through things the right way. We spend the time to ensure decisions are made in a prudent and well documented way.

Why I get up in the morning:

I am a builder that loves to help people. With my job, the goal each day is to make a difference in someone’s life and help them to have a better future. The retirement plan business is a gift that allows me to do that.

How I got here:

I graduated with a degree in Business Accounting and spent 11 years working for a nationally recognized qualified plan record keeper. In 2009, I joined MRP, with the idea of building a practice that far surpassed anything else employers had seen in the state of Utah. Since joining MRP, we have tripled in size and my goal has been to continually strive for improvement both in our internal operations and in the services we deliver to our clients.

What’s hot right now:

Income replacement ratios - Simply put, participants aren’t saving enough. It doesn’t matter how good an employer match is, what the investment returns looks like or whether or not participants are being offered the cheapest platform. If the participant is only saving 4%-5% of their income, retirement will never become a reality. Our focus is on increasing participant savings rates. If we can make a positive difference in savings rates, we believe this will help them more than all of the other discussions put together.

What I tell plan sponsors:

Focus on what you can control. Be consistent. Right or wrong, a prudent process will typically create more successes than failures.

Who am I really:

I am a husband of 18 years and a father of 6 awesome kids. I grew up in Sandy, UT and my family and I have lived in South Jordan and Herriman for the past 14 years. I love soccer, basketball, golf, gardening and running. I have completed 2 marathons, 2 half marathons and 7 Ragnar Relay races. My goal is to one day compete in an Iron Man.